AFSC is a Quaker organization that works on many areas of justice and peace. The collection highlights AFSC’s work with some less discussed aspects of American activism, including conscientious objectors during World War I and World War II, Japanese internment, and work in post-depression Appalachia.
"The digitized items in the Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition Collection are from the Alcoholism and Addiction Studies Collection, as well as from various collections in the Brown University Library — broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets and government publications... The digitized pamphlets were published by various groups leading up to prohibition, during the prohibition era, and ending with the 21st amendment in 1933, which repealed the 18th amendment from 1919 prohibiting the manufacturing, sale or transportation of intoxicating liquors."
The Disability History Museum hosts a Library of virtual artifacts, education curricula, and museum exhibits. These programs are designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities.
The Radicalism Collection from the Michigan State University Libraries collects books, pamphlets, and ephemera produced by and about radical groups within the United States. The website provides access to digitized materials on a variety of groups and movements, from the Ku Klux Klan to the International Workers of the World. A strength of this collection is the inclusion of materials from both what would be considered right- and left-wing groups.
Photos, political cartoons, posters, and other (mainly visual) primary sources from the Prohibition Era.
The Antislavery Collection contains several hundred printed pamphlets and books pertaining to slavery and antislavery in New England, 1725-1911. The holdings include speeches, sermons, proceedings and other publications of organizations such as the American Anti-Slavery Society and the American Colonization Society, and a small number of pro-slavery tracts.
Collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum Blacks and approximately 1000 editorials, from the 1820s through the Civil War. Provides a portrait of Black involvement in the anti-slavery movement.
Drawing from multiple Library of Congress collections, this online exhibit "documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage".
Numbering over 10,000 titles, the collection's pamphlets document the anti-slavery struggle at the local, regional, and national levels.
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Aldo Leopold is considered one of the foremost thinkers on conservation in the 10th century. This collection includes papers, correspondence and photographs related to his work, many of which are available online.
Documents related to the United Farm Workers movement led by Cesar Chavez. Includes historical documents, primary accounts from volunteers who worked with Chavez, and secondary essays.
The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements.
More than 25,000 pages from the Freedom Summer manuscripts, including organizational records, personal papers, letters, diaries and more.
The Occupy Archive is a collection of digitized Occupy Movement materials and ephemera collected from 2011-2018.