Skip to Main Content

Sport in American History: Reference Sources

This guide will provide resources for the Sport in American History elective, spring 2021.

What are reference sources?

Reference sources should be your first stop in the research process. They can be either electronic (in databases) or printed (in books) -- different projects may require you to use different types of reference materials. Reference sources will give you a broad overview or a summary of a specific topic or theme, often including things like definitions of key terms, biographies, and chronologies (timelines) of significant events. Reference sources will not give you opinions or arguments -- for these you will need primary and secondary sources. Overall, the reference sources that you use for a research project should help narrow your topic, refine your question, and give you the background information you need to do more in-depth reading. 

Some example reference sources are encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and atlases. 

Using Reference Materials

Some suggestions on using reference materials (both electronic and print):

  • Think of your reference reading as background reading. What events, topics, or people do you need to read about to get a complete picture of your topic/research question? 
  • Take notes! This is the fact-gathering stage of your research. Take notes on people, places, and events related to your topic; on questions that you have; and on pieces of information that interest you.
  • Use the source lists that your reference sources provide. You may see something that says "Further Reading", "Suggested Reading", or "Bibliography". The additional sources given in these lists are usually going to be topic-specific and in-depth. 
  • If you identify a source from a "Further Reading" list that you think might be helpful, check for it in our library catalog or in one of our databases (see below). If you can't find it, check with a librarian -- we can help you search, and are often able to borrow resources from other libraries.

Searching Databases? Some specific tips
  • Use the Advanced Search option to get better results -- this will allow you combine multiple search ideas at the same time.
  • Use words like "and", "or", and "not" to separate search terms. For example, "Cold War" AND "Space Program".
  • Use "quotation marks" to search for a whole phrase together.
  • Use an asterisk (*) to search for related terms. For example, searching for "librar*" could return results about a library, libraries, a librarian, or librarians.

Electronic Reference Sources (Databases)

Electronic reference sources are found in databases. Databases . . .
  • Are collections of materials on a theme or a topic, curated (selected and evaluated) by experts.
  • Can include everything from digital copies of entire books to short articles.
  • In general, are access-for-pay. This means the school pays for us to use them. For this reason, you will need to be either on campus or logged into the library website to access them. See the box on this page titled "Accessing Databases" for information about how to get to the databases both on and off campus.

​Good Reference Databases for Sport in American History/US History:​

Accessing Databases

On Campus: 

  • You should be able to click through links as you would a free website. If you are prompted for a log-in, please see a librarian.

Off Campus: 

  • You will have to log in using your Nobles ID and password.

Important Notes:

  • If you open a database tab in one place (i.e., at school or home) and leave it open, it will not work when you reopen it in another place (i.e., at home or at school). This is because your use of the library databases depends on the network to which your computer is attached. 

  • DO NOT copy the URL at the top of your screen to include in your citations. It will not work.

Citing Databases

Always make sure you get the stable link and citation information for your articles before you try to change wireless networks. Look for something that says "Citations", "Citing", or "Cite this article", and then copy and paste the link or citation that they give you. Make sure that you are using the Turabian (Chicago) style of citation! Do not copy the URL at the top of the page -- it will not work when you try to use it on a different wireless network.

Quick Links