Databases are collections of electronic sources. In databases you can find many different types of sources: reference, or background, sources; primary sources, or artifacts that were created at the time you are studying; and secondary sources, or writing that has been done about your topic since the time you are researching. Here are some important facts about databases and why we use them:
Linked here are the databases that we think will be most helpful for this project. Each one uses different types of navigation and looks slightly different. Make sure you read the information we've included to help you use them!
This link will take you to the landing page for all of our ABC-CLIO databases. For this assignment, you will want to be looking at the results from a few specific collections. You will want to set the filters on the landing page to look for results in these collections:
When looking at the results in each collection, you will most likely want to use results that are labeled as Reference Articles, Overviews, or Biographies. These will give you background information. You might also want to look at Photos & Illustrations or Speeches. These would be primary sources. The ABC-CLIO databases will be helpful for researching both historical and modern topics.
US History in Context includes many different types of sources, and a wider collection of materials, than the ABC-CLIO databases. When you enter your search terms, use the filters in the center of the page to narrow your results. You will most likely want to use the Reference, Biography, or Primary Source results. US History in Context is good for both historical and modern topics.
High School in Context is arranged in the same way as US History in Context, with the filter results in the center of the page. It will be most helpful for researching your modern social movement. You will most likely want to use the Reference, Biography, and News results.
Opposing Viewpoints is arranged in the same way as US History in Context and High School in Context. The main difference in this database is that it provides you with opinion articles as well as background information. It will be most useful for researching your modern social movement. You will most likely want to look at the results in the Reference, News, and Viewpoints filters. Note: the articles in the Viewpoints filter are opinion pieces, and you should think about evaluating them for their relevance to your argument before you use them as sources. (See the "Research Tips" tab for information about evaluating sources.)
Go to lib.nobles.edu, then find the "Research" tab at the top of the page. All our databases are linked here. You should be able to click through links as you would a free website. If you are prompted for a log-in, please see a librarian.
Off Campus:
Go to lib.nobles.edu, then find the "Research" tab at the top of the page. All our databases are linked here. Please note: when you are off campus, you will have to log in using your Nobles ID and password.
Important Notes:
If you open a database tab in one place (i.e., at school or home) and leave it open, it will not work when you reopen it in another place (i.e., at home or at school). This is because your use of the library databases depends on the network to which your computer is attached.
DO NOT copy the URL at the top of your screen to include in your citations. It will not work.
Always make sure you get the stable link and citation information for your articles before you try to change wireless networks. Look for something that says "Citations", "Citing", or "Cite this article", and then copy and paste the link or citation that they give you. Make sure that you are using the Turabian (Chicago) style of citation! Do not copy the URL at the top of the page -- it will not work when you try to use it on a different wireless network.
