Skip to Main Content

Honors History Research Seminar: Reference Sources: Databases and Books

This guide is designed to support the work of students in the elective Honors Research Seminar.

What are reference sources?

Reference sources should be your first stop in the research process. They can be either electronic (in databases) or printed (in books) -- different projects may require you to use different types of reference materials. Reference sources will give you a broad overview or a summary of a specific topic or theme, often including things like definitions of key terms, biographies, and chronologies (timelines) of significant events. Reference sources will not give you first-hand accounts, opinions, or arguments -- for these you will need primary and secondary sources. Overall, the reference sources that you use for a research project should help narrow your topic, refine your question, and give you the background information you need to do more in-depth reading. 

Some example reference sources are encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and atlases. 

Using Reference Sources (Electronic and Print)

Some suggestions on using reference materials (both electronic and print):

  • Think of your reference reading as background reading. What events, topics, or people do you need to read about to get a complete picture of your topic/research question? For your Honors Seminar work, you will likely need to do a large amount of reference reading. You may end up needing to cite one line from a reference article, or one sentence, or a whole paragraph - or nothing at all. Don't be discouraged or dissuaded from reading lots of reference articles! You will make decisions about the reference articles that are crucial to your question/argument before you start constructing your bibliography.
  • Take notes! This is the fact-gathering stage of your research. Take notes on people, places, and events related to your topic; on questions that you have; and on pieces of information that interest you.
  • Use the source lists that your reference sources provide. You may see something that says "Further Reading", "Suggested Reading", or "Bibliography". The additional sources given in these lists are usually going to be topic-specific and in-depth. 
  • If you identify a source from a "Further Reading" list that you think might be helpful, check for it in our library catalog or in one of our databases (see below). If you can't find it, check with a librarian -- we can help you search, and are often able to borrow resources from other libraries.

Electronic Reference Sources (Databases)

Electronic reference sources are found in databases. Databases . . .
  • Are collections of materials on a theme or a topic, curated (selected and evaluated) by experts.
  • Can include everything from digital copies of entire books to short articles.
  • In general, are access-for-pay. This means the school pays for us to use them. For this reason, you will need to be either on campus or logged into the library website to access them. See the box on this page titled "Accessing Databases" for information about how to get to the databases both on and off campus.​

Good history reference databases:

The databases linked here are some that we would recommend for doing reference reading about both US history topics and international topics. However, you are not limited to these sources - they are simply good places to start. Please also consult the list of "Library Databases A-Z" in the "Quick Links" box on the right side of this page if there specific areas of research that you would like to do. 

This will take you to the landing page for all of our ABC-CLIO databases. You will want to select a more specific database collection in which to search, depending on your topic. 

Print Reference Sources

The library has a large section of print reference books. Print reference books are usually divided into short articles about a topic or theme, with a list of further reading.

You can use the library catalog to search for titles relating to your topic. If you need help searching the catalog, look at our "Research Tips" page (see tab above).

All of the library's print reference books are on the shelves closest to the barn door. Use the numbered signs on the ends of the shelves and on the books to help find the titles you are looking for. All reference books have call numbers that start with "R".

You cannot check out the print reference books -- they are in the library for everyone to refer to whenever they need -- but you can make photocopies. Ask a librarian if you need help making photocopies.

Accessing Databases

On Campus: 

  • Go to lib.nobles.edu, find the "Research" tab at the top of the page, and then "Databases" in the drop-down menu. You should be able to click through links as you would a free website. If you are prompted for a log-in, please see a librarian.

Off Campus: 

  • Go to lib.nobles.edu, find the "Research" tab at the top of the page, and then "Databases" in the drop-down menu. You will be prompted to log in to our proxy server. Log in using your Nobles ID and password.

Important Notes:

  • If you open a database tab in one place (i.e., at school or home) and leave it open, it will not work when you reopen it in another place (i.e., at home or at school). This is because your use of the library databases depends on the network to which your computer is attached. 

  • DO NOT copy the URL at the top of your screen to include in your citations. It will not work.

Citing Databases

Always make sure you get the stable link and citation information for your articles before you try to change wireless networks. Look for something that says "Citations", "Citing", or "Cite this article", and then copy and paste the link or citation that they give you. Make sure that you are using the Turabian (Chicago) style of citation! Do not copy the URL at the top of the page -- it will not work when you try to use it on a different wireless network.

Quick Links