LibGuides: Global History II Teacher Resources: Online and Open Source Resources

African History

African Pictures
An African picture library based in South Africa with historical and modern photographs of Africa, mostly from the 20th century onward.
Gazettes.Africa
A collection of over 100,000 government gazettes from 20+ African countries chronicling laws and other governmental news. Mostly 20th and 21st century.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Connected to a larger network of Internet History Sourcebooks, this page provides links to many primary and secondary source texts related to African history from pre-history through the present.
National Library of South Africa Digital Collections
Digital primary sources from South Africa's national library.
South African Propaganda
Digitized collection of propaganda films produced by the South African Information Service in support of apartheid.

Digital Library of the Caribbean
Provides users free and open access to Caribbean cultural, historical, scientific and research materials held in archives, libraries, museums, private collections, and other institutions of memory.
Early Caribbean Digital Archive
An open-access collection of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images. Texts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries focused on the Caribbean. The ECDA aims to use digital tools to "remix" the archive and foreground the centrality and creativity of enslaved and free African, Afro-creole, and Indigenous peoples in the Caribbean world.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: Digital Collections
Rare, unique, and primary materials that document the history and culture of people of African descent throughout the world, with a concentration on the Americas and the Caribbean.

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
A steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
Documents of Latin American and Latino Art
Dedicated to the recovery and publication of primary source materials and critical texts related to 20th and 21st Latin American and Latinx art.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
The Luso-Hispanic New World in Early Prints and Photographs
Collection of 600 hundred photographs and print images in books and albums, from the 19th to the early 20th centuries, associated with the former New World colonies of Spain and Portugal.

EuroDocs
Links to online primary documents for European nations from prehistory to the modern era.
Europeana
Provides access to millions of primary source items from cultural institutions across Europe. These include artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and more.

The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Primary source documents from 4000 BCE to the modern era.
British Library Images Online
The picture library of the British Library, featuring high-quality thousands of high-quality images from the Library's collections.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Provides access to millions of digitized books and publications from around the world.
Internet Archive: Books
A collection of over 4 million digital books, most of which are freely available to read.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Almost 900,000 items digitized from the NYPL's holdings, including prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
World Digital Library
Library of Congress collection of cultural heritage texts and objects. Includes nearly 20,000 items from across the globe and dating from the year 1000 to today.

Expeditions and Discoveries
This collection includes a variety of materials from selected expeditions between 1626 and 1953.
Hans Peter Kraus Collection of Spanish American Documents, 1433 to 1877
Consists of 162 multipage items (5,950 images) dating mainly from 1500 to 1800. The collection documents the history of the Spanish colonies in the Americas, chiefly Mexico, but also Peru, Guatemala, and New Granada, and territories that became part of the United States.
Latin American Travelogues
The goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. The works selected are linked to critical essays.
Livingstone Online
A digital museum and library that allows users to encounter the written, visual, and material legacies of the famous Victorian explorer, missionary, and abolitionist David Livingstone (1813-73).
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: Digital Collections
Rare, unique, and primary materials that document the history and culture of people of African descent throughout the world, with a concentration on the Americas and the Caribbean.

Enslaved Spaces Project
Provides an interactive map of sites connected with the slave trade in western and central Africa between 1440 and 1880.
Excerpts from Slave Narratives
Excerpts from slave narratives describing aspects of enslavement including the Middle Passage and life under slavery in the New World and Europe.
The Geography of Slavery In Virginia
A digital collection of advertisements for runaway and captured slaves and servants in 18th- and 19th-century Virginia newspapers. Building on the rich descriptions of individual slaves and servants in the ads, the project offers a personal, geographical and documentary context for the study of slavery in Virginia.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
Brings together essential legal materials relating to the history of slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This free resource requires registration.
SlaveVoyages
Highly interactive presentation of primary sources about the transatlantic slave trade. Maps, timelines, 3D reconstructions and more.