LibGuides: HHC Iraq War Referendum: Home

Database Resources

Library databases can provide you with information on key people, organizations, and events. They can also include primary sources and images. Check out the databases below to start. Just make sure that you are only building your argument on information that would have been available in 2003.

American Government (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Reference, primary and other sources about topics related to American government.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles, primary sources, reference sources, videos and other resources about global government, law, health, science and technology, society, and culture.
Issues and Controversies in History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Background, viewpoints and primary sources about historical topics.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Viewpoints and sources on modern controversial topics.
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Resources about the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of humanity.

Research Tips

Tips for Searching the Databases

Before you search come up with a short list of search terms you might want to use. These can include synonyms and alternate wordings in case your first search terms don't turn up a lot of results.
Start with more general search terms and then get more specific as you learn more about your topic.
If you're having trouble finding good sources, think about searching more broadly or narrowly
Use the Advanced Search option to get better results -- this will allow you combine multiple search ideas at the same time.
Use words like "and", "or", and "not" to separate search terms. For example, "China" AND "climate change".
Use "quotation marks" to search for a whole phrase together.
Use an asterisk (*) to search for related terms. For example, searching for "librar*" could return results about a library, libraries, a librarian, or librarians.
The databases don't work exactly like Google search does--you may have to try out a few different search terms before you find one that works well.

Newspaper Resources

Newspapers and other news media will be a key resource for you as you seek to support your argument. Here are several recommended library resources.

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Print and online news from around the world from the 1600s to the present.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the Los Angeles Times from 1985 to today.

Library Newspaper Access
On this page you can access many different newspapers and magazines including The Boston Globe, The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Atlantic, The New Yorker, and more.

Other Resources

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
This archive contains approximately 40,000 hours of digitized television and radio programs from across the nation. Using keywords to search and limiting by date will be helpful.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting: PBS News Hour
Archives of the nightly show PBS News Hour. Search for an exact date range or use keywords to find news stories leading up to the Iraq War.
National Security Archive: Iraq War Project
This collection's goal is to "secure and curate historically significant documents regarding U.S. relations with Iraq" since the 1990s. Make sure that you are only using information that would have been available in 2003.
American Rhetoric
This is a collection of over 5,000 full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events. Includes many speeches by President George W. Bush.

Links & Citation

Always make sure you get the stable link and citation information for your articles. Look for something that says "Citations", "Citing", or "Cite this article", and then copy the Chicago Turabian citation OR export that citation directly into Noodletools. Copying the URL from the URL bar isn't a good idea--it often won't bring you back to the article later.