LibGuides: Archival Research: Research Tips

Archival Research Tips (In-Person)

Before starting your archival research you need to clearly define your research goals. Ask yourself what the objective of your research is. What information are you hoping to find, and why is it important to your project or research question?
Next, identify relevant archives that hold the materials you need for your research. Archives can be found in various institutions, including libraries, universities, government agencies, museums, and private collections. Determine if you will need to visit a repository in person, or if the archive has digital collections that you can use.
Once you have identified an archive, contact the Archivist if you are planning a visit. Familiarize yourself with the finding aids, collection guide, or inventory list to identify relevant materials. Note the call numbers, box numbers, or folder titles that you want to examine and let the Archivist know.
At the Archive, make sure to handle materials carefully, take detailed notes, and make scans or take pictures of relevant documents or materials for future analysis.
During or after your visit, analyze and synthesize the data and information you have collected. Does the information address your research questions or objectives?
Lastly, properly cite all archival materials you used in your research following the appropriate citation style (e.g., Chicago, APA, MLA). Some archives may have specific guidelines on how their materials should be cited. Be aware of privacy and copyright restrictions associated with certain archival materials.

Archival Research Tips (Online)

Before starting your archival research, you must clearly define your research goals. Ask yourself what the objective of your research is. What information are you hoping to find, and why is it important to your project or research question?
Next, identify relevant search engines. There are general search engines that you can search for archival materials, such as WorldCat, or Archives Unbound. These catalogs often link to digital versions of documents or provide information on how to access physical items.
Or, visit archive websites for specific archives or institutions to check for online collections, finding aids, and research guides. Many archives have their own search engines and databases. Familiarize yourself with these tools, as they may offer advanced search options specific to their collections.
Digital libraries may also have digitized collections. A few places to look include the Library of Congress, the British Library, and the National Archives. These digital libraries can be a goldmine for primary sources.
Familiarize yourself with advanced search techniques, like Boolean operators, truncation, and phrase searching. These can help you narrow down results effectively.
If you need help finding specific materials, contact the archivist or librarians at the institutions. They can often help you tailor your search or help you interpret and read the finding aids or catalog.
Take notes and maintain detailed records of your searches, including the search terms you used, the sources you consulted, and the publication date of the materials. This will help with citations, avoid duplication, and help you organize your information.
Analyze and synthesize the data and information you have collected. Does the information address your research questions or objectives? Additionally, assess the credibility and reliability of the sources you find. Archival materials may vary in quality, accuracy, and bias.
Make sure to properly cite all archival materials you used in your research following the appropriate citation style (e.g., Chicago, APA, MLA). Some archives may have specific guidelines on how their materials should be cited. Be aware of privacy and copyright restrictions associated with certain archival materials.
Lastly, stay patient and persistent. Online archival research can sometimes be frustrating when materials are hard to find. With any research, archival research online is not as simple as doing a Google search. Stay patient and persistent, and keep going despite dead ends.

Archival Research: Research Tips

Archival Research Tips (In-Person)

Before starting your archival research you need to clearly define your research goals. Ask yourself what the objective of your research is. What information are you hoping to find, and why is it important to your project or research question?

At the Archive, make sure to handle materials carefully, take detailed notes, and make scans or take pictures of relevant documents or materials for future analysis.

During or after your visit, analyze and synthesize the data and information you have collected. Does the information address your research questions or objectives?

Archival Research Tips (Online)

Before starting your archival research, you must clearly define your research goals. Ask yourself what the objective of your research is. What information are you hoping to find, and why is it important to your project or research question?

Next, identify relevant search engines. There are general search engines that you can search for archival materials, such as WorldCat, or Archives Unbound. These catalogs often link to digital versions of documents or provide information on how to access physical items.

Digital libraries may also have digitized collections. A few places to look include the Library of Congress, the British Library, and the National Archives. These digital libraries can be a goldmine for primary sources.

Familiarize yourself with advanced search techniques, like Boolean operators, truncation, and phrase searching. These can help you narrow down results effectively.

If you need help finding specific materials, contact the archivist or librarians at the institutions. They can often help you tailor your search or help you interpret and read the finding aids or catalog.

Take notes and maintain detailed records of your searches, including the search terms you used, the sources you consulted, and the publication date of the materials. This will help with citations, avoid duplication, and help you organize your information.

Analyze and synthesize the data and information you have collected. Does the information address your research questions or objectives? Additionally, assess the credibility and reliability of the sources you find. Archival materials may vary in quality, accuracy, and bias.

Lastly, stay patient and persistent. Online archival research can sometimes be frustrating when materials are hard to find. With any research, archival research online is not as simple as doing a Google search. Stay patient and persistent, and keep going despite dead ends.