Primary sources are artifacts that were created during the time that is being studied. Some examples include letters, diaries, photos or videos, newspaper or magazine articles, interviews, speeches, oral histories, government documents, public opinion polls, and Tweets or other social media posts (for contemporary topics). We use primary sources both to get and to give a more complete view of what people were thinking, feeling, and experiencing at the time that we are studying. The primary sources that you use will depend on the nature and scope of your project, and will need to be entirely specific to your research question. Please think widely and be curious about the types of primary sources you might be able to use! Remember that your argument, and your eventual thesis, will be informed by your primary sources - you do not create an argument in a vacuum and then try to find primary sources to fit.
Also, consider that primary sources DO NOT have to be digital. The majority of the resources we have listed here in digital format - meaning they have been digitized by an organization to make them more accessible and easier to use. However, do not be afraid to consider using primary sources held in their original, physical form by organizations and archives. Please consult with your teacher or a librarian (especially Ms. Charles) if this is something you would like to do.
Some suggestions for finding and using primary sources:
Newspapers are great options for primary sources. We have access to many historical and contemporary newspapers through our library databases, and it is possible to access many other historical databases through sites such as the Library of Congress. The majority of the newspaper databases to which we have access are US-based publications. Access World News is an excellent source for international newspapers and other international news sources.
Historical Newspapers:
Contemporary Newspapers:
Nobles students and employees also have access to several contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post, through the library. For access to these papers, please go to lib.nobles.edu, and then the "Newspapers" tab in the top right corner. Follow the login prompts for either students or staff. Please let a librarian know if you have difficulty getting to any of these papers.
Access World News also has contemporary newspapers from around the world, in addition to historical ones.
Many of our databases include other types of primary sources, such as the full text of speeches, interviews, and government documents. When you search, make sure to filter your results to "primary sources".
Many private organizations, as well as federal, state, and local governments, provide digital access to documents and other primary sources on their websites. Google Advanced Search is a very powerful search tool when you are searching for primary sources because it allows you to limit what types of sites you search.
Some tips:
There is an increasing amount of historical material that has been digitized and is now available online, through various organizations, universities, museums, and more. We have created another research guide devoted only to those types of sources for US history-specific topics. Please click here to access it.
We have also created a guide to some free online primary sources for topics and time periods in global history. Click here to visit that guide.
Go to lib.nobles.edu, find the "Research" tab at the top of the page, and then "Databases" in the drop-down menu. You should be able to click through links as you would a free website. If you are prompted for a log-in, please see a librarian.
Off Campus:
Go to lib.nobles.edu, find the "Research" tab at the top of the page, and then "Databases" in the drop-down menu. You will be prompted to log in to our proxy server. Log in using your Nobles ID and password.
Important Notes:
If you open a database tab in one place (i.e., at school or home) and leave it open, it will not work when you reopen it in another place (i.e., at home or at school). This is because your use of the library databases depends on the network to which your computer is attached.
DO NOT copy the URL at the top of your screen to include in your citations. It will not work.
Always make sure you get the stable link and citation information for your articles before you try to change wireless networks. Look for something that says "Citations", "Citing", or "Cite this article", and then copy and paste the link or citation that they give you. Make sure that you are using the Turabian (Chicago) style of citation! Do not copy the URL at the top of the page -- it will not work when you try to use it on a different wireless network.
