Resources for Racial Justice: Educational Resources

• Critical Race Theory, by Richard Delgado 
• Emergent Strategy: Shaping Change, Changing Worlds, by Adrienne Maree Brown
• The Guide for White Women Who Teach Black Boys: Understanding, Connecting, Respecting, ed. Eddie Moore Jr., Ali Michael & Marguerite W. Penick-Parks
• Is Everyone Really Equal?: An Introduction to Key Concepts in Social Justice Education, by Özlem Sensoy and Robin DiAngelo
• Lies My Teacher Told Me: Everything Your American History Textbook Got Wrong, by James W. Loewen
• Not Light, But Fire: How to Lead Meaningful Race Conversations in the Classroom, by Matthew R. Kay 
• Putting the Movement Back into Civil Rights Teaching, ed. Deborah Menkart, Alana D. Murray, and Jenice L. View
• Soundless Cries Don’t Lead to Healing: A Critical Thinking Guide to Cultural Consciousness, by Valencia D. Clay
• Teaching Critical Thinking: Practical Wisdom, by bell hooks
• Teaching for Black Lives, ed. Dylan Watson, Jesse Hagopian, and Wayne Au
• Teaching to Transgress: Education as the Practice of Freedom, by bell hooks
• Uprooting Racism: How White People Can Work for Racial Justice, by Paul Kivel
• Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?: And Other Conversations About Race, by Beverly Daniel Tatum 

Zinn Education Project
The Zinn Education Project promotes and supports the teaching of people’s history in middle and high school classrooms across the country. Based on the lens of history highlighted in Howard Zinn’s best-selling book A People’s History of the United States, the website offers free, downloadable lessons and articles organized by theme, time period, and reading level.

dRworksBook

This is a resource-dense web-based workbook from Dismantling Racism Works (drworks). In addition to the workbook, their site also includes many further resources.

Resources for Teaching Black History

• The 1619 Project (New York Times) - Published initially in 2019 (the 400th anniversary of the arrival of the first Africans in Virginia), this is a long-form project from the New York Times that states its goal as aiming to “reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative”.
• Also from the New York Times, a collection of photos, articles, and other Times media. 
• A collection of primary sources and lesson plans from the Library of Congress.
• Hosted by the Library of Congress, this page dedicated to African-American History Month offers resources (both primary and secondary) and lesson plans from numerous US government institutions, including the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Gallery of Art, and the National Park Service.

• Teaching Tolerance | Diversity, Equity And Justice: Lets Talk! Discussing Whiteness: A four-part web series that covers a range of critical topics that can be difficult to discuss with students and colleagues. 

• Raising Anti-Racist White Children: A live interactive online workshop for parents and educators offering information and guidance on how to prepare white children in our increasingly multiracial society. The workshop encourages the development of an anti-racist outlook in all children, and focuses on the particular experience of raising white children.

• SEGL TV: The School for Ethics and Global Leadership aims “to provide intellectually motivated high school juniors who represent the diversity of the United States with the best possible opportunity to shape themselves into ethical leaders who create positive change in our world”. This is their programming page - they are currently hosting live programming as well as maintaining an archive of previous offerings.

• Crip Camp: The Official Virtual Experience: A summer-long, weekly gathering where experts and trailblazing speakers from the disability community speak on a variety of topics including the intersections of disability, race, class and gender.

*Articles are noted with quotation marks.

• “10 Books I Wish My White Teachers Had Read”
• “26 Ways to Be in the Struggle Beyond the Streets”
• “75 Things White People Can Do for Racial Justice”
• “Black Agenda 2020” (“This policy agenda is intended to be an advocacy roadmap for organizers, community members, policymakers, and thought leaders, and to inform and inspire candidates up and down the ballot to build platforms and campaigns that represent the real interests of Black voters.”)
• “Confronting Inequity, the Trauma We Don’t See”
• “Helping Students Make Sense of News Stories about Bias and Injustice”
• “A Herstory of the #BlackLivesMatter Movement” 
• Jenna Arnold’s Resources (A list of books and people to follow.)
• “The Power of Protocols for Equity”
•  Rachel Ricketts’ Anti-racism Resources
• “Resources for Discussing Police Violence, Race, and Racism With Students”
• “Resources for White People to Learn and Talk About Race and Racism”
• “Supporting Kids Of Color In the Wake Of Racialized Violence”
• “Talking to Children after Racial Incidents”
• “Talking to Kids About Racial Violence”
• “Teachers Must Hold Themselves Accountable for Dismantling Racial Oppression”
• “Teaching About Race, Racism and Police Violence”
• “Teaching as Activism, Teaching as Care”
• “Why is This Happening?:  An Introduction to Police Brutality” (A collection of resources that examines the complexities of police brutality and police violence of Black Americans.)

• African American Recovery & Wellness Resources - NAMI Queens/Nassau: A collection of resources for African American Recovery & Wellness by the National Alliance of Mental Health.
• Anti-Racism Project: The Anti-Racism Project offers participants ways to examine the crucial and persistent issue of racism. This is the link for their resources page. 
• Black Lives Matter: Black Lives Matter’s mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and the vigilantes. The blacklivesmatter website offers resources for further education, petitions, a web series,  news updates, and merchandise to support the movement. 
• The Black Lives Matter at School Coalition: This is a national coalition working for racial justice in education. 2020 marked the third annual Black Lives Matter at School Week of Action (the first week of February). They offer a collection of teaching resources. 
• Center for Racial Justice in Education: Based in New York City, this organization trains teachers to disrupt racism. This page is their resource list.
• D.C. Area Educators for Social Justice: This organization “is a network of educators who seek to strengthen and deepen social justice teaching”. Their site offers links to suggested lessons, films, books, readings, and general teaching guides for Black Lives Matter at School Week of Action and beyond. 
• Facing History and Ourselves:  Facing History works with schools (students and teachers) to examine and connect both history and today. They offer many resources for teaching specific case studies. 
• National Education Association (NEA) EdJustice: The NEA is the largest professional labor union in the US, and offers a collection of resources for teachers at their Black Lives Matter at School page.
• Resources for Discussing Police Violence, Race, and Racism With Students: Compiled by Education Week.
• Rethinking Schools: Lots of great ideas and articles from this progressive education publication.
  • Publishers of Teaching for Black Lives, which explores the importance of centering black history and black lives in all aspects of curriculum and equipping educators with tools and methods to teach about black lives.
  • Resources related to the book.
• Showing Up for Racial Justice: Resources from SURJ.
• Teaching for Change: “Provides teachers and parents with the tools to create schools where students learn to read, write, and change the world”. They have collections of teaching resources (articles, booklists, and more) on specific topics, such as Anti-Bias Education. 
• Teaching Tolerance: Resources on Race and Ethnicity. Some specific resources include:
  • Let's Talk! : Let’s Talk: Facilitating Critical Conversations With Students is a Teaching Tolerance Guide that offers  classroom-ready strategies to use to plan discussions and to facilitate these conversations with students.
  • Teaching About Race, Racism, and Police Violence
  • “Teaching as Activism, Teaching as Care”
  • Race & Ethnicity
  • Rights & Activism
  • “Affirming Black Lives Without Inducing Trauma”